Inspired Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology and
the Path to Light

Navigating the Spiritual Journey


What's Your Destination?

Hindu tradition explains that life consists of four major aims for all of us. As you might imagine, these goals will sweep broad expanses of human experience. And they do:

  1. artha (wealth, possessions, security, work)

  2. kāma (pleasure, happiness, fun)

  3. dharma (purpose in life, right action and behavior)

  4. moksha (spiritual development)

Vedic astrology provides insight and guidance for all of these life areas. Most people have some interest in all such pursuits but tend to give major time and energy to just a few of them. This is neither right nor wrong and simply follows from the law of karma (fate or destiny). The Hindu yogis and other sages teach that each person has free will yet only within the context of her or his specific karma. This means that each individual will naturally be drawn or guided to specific life aims.

The magic and grace a person brings to life simply reflects how much she or he is at peace with, and utilizes, the unique path and opportunities given by Life. Even so, every one of us has a responsibility to develop the life areas of dharma and moksha, at least to some level, during our lifetime.

So, from one perspective, every life aim is on the path to Light since it is what one is supposed to do. However, the traditional final goal in Hinduism (and many world religions) is spiritual unfoldment leading to a higher level of consciousness which is often referred to as enlightenment.

These web pages focus upon this traditional meaning of the word moksha and explain how every human activity fits into this path but also detail how to progress along the traditional path of rāja yoga (energy work and meditation) to achieve higher awareness and enlightenment.


Simple, Practical and Effective

Vedic astrology covers a lot of ground. This ancient Indian wisdom considers and explains an immense span of experience. Why? Life runs rife in all manner of direction. So, a model for Life Itself has to follow in humble pursuit here and there and all over the lands and skies. Fortunately, the essence of this spiritually profound view can be a lot simpler to digest. And yet, still marvelously sensible, prudent and effective. 


What's in a name? Or a chart, for that matter? Here are two charts for a fellow named Ramana Maharshi. Ring a bell? If you recognize the name, then it says heaps and heaps. If you don't recognize the name, then it is likely just some funny foreign sounding name. Just the same way, these two charts provide key vantages in Jyotish for grasping the essential character of a person. If you know some Jyotish and recognize what the circled items stand for then, again, the "name" says a lot. Otherwise, the charts just look like some variant of a skewed tic-tac-toe game.

The goal here is not to get inundated by endless symbols and minutia that can have no practical relevance to anyone outside of an astrologer. Instead, tease out the essential few facts that make all the difference. And run with that.  

So what are the few facts here? The chart on the left indicates that this person has a strong inclination toward spiritual experience and not much else. One-sided drive, for whatever, may not be a good thing for most folks. In this case, though, the chart on the right gives two thumbs up to spiritual quests in any shape or form. And bingo, you have Ramana Maharshi, a great spiritual master from India who lived up through the middle of last century.

Would the outcome be the same if another person were born with the same chart details? Maybe but maybe not. A chart acts as a template for experience. It does not completely determine the details. Here’s where you come in. Free will factors into the equation.  

Here's a video about a fundamental concept in Jyotish, known as a kendra. The slide below summarizes some essential ideas to be gleaned. After you watch the video, you can revisit the slide and it should then make lots more sense to you.

Remedies for Karma

Karma is just another name for fate. The idea is that you are not just a body, heart and mind but also have a spirit that transcends birth and death. This spirit (or soul) acts much like a memory stick and houses a record of all actions and intentions. This sounds a little airy-fairy but it is not. Just as your brain houses memories which are stored by real life flesh and blood, so too, your spirit houses memories which are stored as subtle forms of energy.  Mystics and spiritual masters have known and declared this for thousands of years.

But now, even scientists are getting in on the act. Modern scientific models clearly allow for "information" (their word for any kind of experience whatsoever whether subjective or objective) to be stored and transformed in endless possible ways—many of them just using energy patterns of one sort or another. In other words, some streams of modern science are sounding quite like the traditional models of yoga, Vedic astrology and many other spiritual traditions.



Etheric and Astral Level

Qigong consists of two words: qi (energy) and gong (skill). These exercises promote health by regulating the electrical flows in (etheric) and around (astral) the body. Because the planets operate at higher levels, it's possible to shield yourself from their negative effects which have to trickle down through the astral and etheric levels to get to your body, heart and mind.


Physical Level

Planets act like guides. At specific times they step to the foreground and work to help you learn valuable lessons about yourself and your path in the world. The energy that showers upon you must take form and manifest. However, it's up to you what form the energy takes. If you learn about and emulate the better qualities of your planetary teacher, the power it wields will take shape along the lines of these better qualities. Otherwise, much like Murphy's law, the lessons  will tend to be less helpful.

Prayer and Meditation

Mental and Causal Level

The ultimate fix for karma lies deep inside yourself—in the stillness of meditation and prayer. Through consistent practice, you can begin to develop a more focused mind and with it, then begin to speak more directly with your spiritual teachers. In Vedic astrology, the planets operate at the mental and causal levels. Deep meditation can reach these levels. From these, and even deeper levels, the great spiritual adepts help us to achieve our fullest potentials.